Coverart for item
The Resource Eagle in exile, Alan Smale

Eagle in exile, Alan Smale

Label
Eagle in exile
Title
Eagle in exile
Statement of responsibility
Alan Smale
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale's gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade North America in 1218. Now the stunning story carries hero Gaius Marcellinus deeper into the culture of an extraordinary people--whose humanity, bravery, love, and ingenuity forever change his life and destiny. In A.D. 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus is ordered to conquer North America and turning it into a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great city of Cahokia, his legion is destroyed outright; Marcellinus is the only one spared. In the months and years that follow, Marcellinus comes to see North America as his home and the Cahokians as his kin. He vows to defend these proud people from any threat, Roman or native. After successfully repelling an invasion by the fearsome Iroqua tribes, Marcellinus realizes that a weak and fractured North America won't stand a chance against the returning Roman army. Worse, rival factions from within threaten to tear Cahokia apart just when it needs to be most united and strong. Marcellinus is determined to save the civilization that has come to mean more to him than the empire he once served. But to survive the swords of Roma, he first must avert another Iroqua attack and bring the Cahokia together. Only with the hearts and souls of a nation at his back can Marcellinus hope to know triumph. Advance praise for Eagle in Exile "[Eagle in Exile] has the pace and scope of a Michener or Uris epic. Smale's action scenes slash across page after page, intense and bloody. Grab your dagger and sword, for the battle continues."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Praise for Alan Smale's Clash of Eagles "Epic, bloody, and hugely imaginative."--John Birmingham, author of the Dave vs. the Monsters series "Epic in its sweep, exciting in its narrative, and eyeball-kick-sharp in its details."--Nancy Kress, Nebula and Hugo award-winning author of Beggars in Spain "Authoritatively researched and compellingly told, Clash of Eagles is a modern masterpiece of what-if speculation."--Stephen Baxter, Philip K. Dick Award-winning author of The Time Ships "Alan Smale has done remarkable work with the world-building in Clash of Eagles. Yet what follows is more than a standard clash-of-cultures yarn, for there are other forces in play in this alternate North America. Can the determination and ingenuity of one man change the fate of a continent? I'm eager to find out."--Harry Turtledove, New York Times bestselling author of How Few Remain "Just when it seems there is nothing new in [alternate] history comes this debut."--Library Journal (starred review) "Intriguingly original."--Kirkus Reviews"--
  • "The follow-up novel to Clash of Eagles. In the two years since losing his legion on the banks of the mighty Mizipi River, Gaius has integrated himself into Cahokian society, made friends among his former adversaries, and thwarted two invasions by their longtime foe, the Iroqua. But with a Roman invasion looming on the horizon and a coup brewing in Cahokia, Gaius and company find themselves fighting one battle after another, all while trying to unite the peoples of North America to stand against Roma. Can one man sway the fate of a continent?"--
Member of
Summary
Integrating himself into Cahokian society after losing his legion on the banks of the mighty Mizipi River, Gaius, as a Roman invasion looms on the horizon, finds himself, along with his friends, fighting one battle after another while trying to unite the peoples of North America to stand against Roma
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10473492
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3619.M33
LC item number
E24 2016
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
The clash of eagles trilogy
Series volume
2
Target audience
adult
Label
Eagle in exile, Alan Smale
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5782262
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
556 pages
Isbn
9780804177245
Isbn Type
(hardcover : acid-free paper)
Lccn
2015048260
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn911594053
  • (OCoLC)911594053
Label
Eagle in exile, Alan Smale
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5782262
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
556 pages
Isbn
9780804177245
Isbn Type
(hardcover : acid-free paper)
Lccn
2015048260
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn911594053
  • (OCoLC)911594053

Library Locations

    • LaFayette-Walker County LibraryBorrow it
      305 S Duke Street, La Fayette, GA, 30728-2936, US
      34.702389 -85.280716

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...